UK Offence Report

Contravention of The Health and Safety (Fees) Regulations 2010

the instrument as a whole of The Health and Safety (Fees) Regulations 2010 (revoked)

This offence was read from the text as made, and no revised version was available, so a later revocation could not be ruled out. Check the current text at legislation.gov.uk.

What the provision says

Contravening this instrument is an offence under section 33(1)(c) of the Health and Safety at Work etc. Act 1974. The instrument itself contains no offence-creating words.

Text as made, from legislation.gov.uk. © Crown copyright, reused under the Open Government Licence v3.0. This is the text as originally made; later amendments are not shown here.

Who it binds, and what has to be proved

Binds
a person
Conduct
breaching the provision
Fault element
Strict liability
Burden of proof
Not determined

The prosecution must prove that the conduct happened. This is a strict liability offence as drafted: the provision uses no word of intention, knowledge, recklessness or negligence, so there is no need to show that a person meant to do it, knew about it, or was careless.

Intention, knowledge and carelessness are irrelevant to guilt. They may still matter a great deal to sentence.

Classifier’s reasoning: contravention offences of this kind are strict as to the breach; the fault position is governed by the parent Act and was not read from it.

What would breach the instrument as a whole?

These are illustrations, not law. They are generated from the provision’s own words to show the shape of the offence. Whether any particular conduct is caught depends on the full text, on any amendment since, and on the facts.

  1. Doing what the provision prohibits, or failing to do what it requires under the Health and Safety (Fees) Regulations 2010.

Penalty

Mode of trial
Set by another provision — the instrument states the penalty by reference to an Act or to another regulation
Maximum fine
Not determined
Maximum prison (summary)
Not determined

The instrument does not state a penalty itself. It sets one by reference to section 33(1)(c) of the Health and Safety at Work etc. Act 1974.

the penalty is in the parent Act, not in this instrument.

No penalty was determined from this instrument. It may be in the enabling Act, or in a general penalties provision this pass did not connect to the offence. Absence of a figure here is not evidence that the offence carries no penalty.

Sentencing

Offences of this kind are usually sentenced under the guidelines below. This is a mapping by subject, not a finding about this provision, and the links go to a search of the Sentencing Council’s own site.

Prosecution figures

No published per-offence figure was found for this provision, and it could not be matched to a Ministry of Justice offence code. Offences created by statutory instrument very largely do not have one. Absence of a figure is not evidence that the offence is unused.

Status and lifecycle

Current status
Status not determined
Made
2 March 2010
In force from
6 April 2010
Extent
Not stated

How this was established: read from the text as made; no revised version available, so later revocation could not be ruled out.

What the instrument is for

(This note is not part of the Regulations) — the explanatory note published with the instrument, © Crown copyright.

These Regulations revoke and replace the Health and Safety (Fees) Regulations 2009 (S.I. 2009/515), and also update fees to be charged. These Regulations fix or determine the fees payable by an applicant to, in most cases, the Health and Safety Executive (“the Executive”), in respect of an application made for— an approval under mines and quarries legislation (regulation 2 and Schedule 1); an approval of plant or equipment under the Agriculture (Tractor Cabs) Regulations 1974 (regulation 3 and Schedule 2); an approval of a scheme or programme under the Freight Containers (Safety Convention) Regulations 1984 (regulation 4 and Schedule 3); a licence under the Control of Asbestos Regulations 2006 and the reassessment of an application to grant, amendment to, and replacement of, such a licence (regulation 5 and Schedule 4); an approval of dosimetry services for the purposes of the Ionising Radiations Regulations 1999 or the Radiation (Emergency Preparedness and Public Information) Regulations 2001, and an amendment to such an approval (regulation 8 and Schedule 7); a licence to manufacture or store explosives or for registration for storing explosives under the Manufacture and Storage of Explosives Regulations 2005; an acetylene importation licence under section 40(9) of the Explosives Act 1875; an approval under certain instruments made under that Act in relation to acetylene; a licence under the Petroleum (Consolidation) Act 1928; the transfer of a licence under the Petroleum (Transfer of Licences) Act 1936; the approval of a classification of an explosive under the Classification and Labelling of Explosives Regulations 1983, or for an explosives certificate under the Control of Explosives Regulations 1991 (regulation 9 and Schedule 8). These Regulations include lower fees in respect of applications for explosives certificates to acquire and keep shooters’ powder in certain circumstances (entries (g) to (j) in Table 1 of Part 9 of Schedule 8); an explosives licence under Part IX of the Dangerous Substances in Harbour Areas Regulations 1987 (regulation 11 and Schedule 9), and in respect of— a notification or application under the Genetically Modified Organisms (Contained Use) Regulations 2000 (regulation 13 and Schedule 10); an “assessment agreement” and a “design proposal” as defined in regulation 16 for nuclear installations (regulation 16 and Schedule 13); an approval under the Health and Safety (First-Aid) Regulations 1981 (regulations 18 and 20 and Schedule 14); and an approval under the Offshore Installations and Pipeline Works (First-Aid) Regulations 1989 (regulations 19 and 20 and Schedule 15). These Regulations fix fees to be paid in respect of medical examinations and surveillance by an employment medical adviser which are required under certain of the relevant statutory provisions (regulations 6 and 7 and Schedules 5 and 6). These Regulations fix a fee, payable by employers, to cover the cost to the Executive of processing information sent on behalf of those employers pursuant to the Ionising Radiations Regulations 1999 (regulation 8 and Schedule 7). These Regulations determine fees payable by specified persons in respect of the performance by the Executive of certain functions specified in the Offshore Installations (Safety Case) Regulations 2005 (regulation 14 and Schedule 11). These Regulations determine fees payable by specified persons in respect of the performance by the Executive of the following functions specified in the Gas Safety (Management) Regulations 1996— assessing a safety case or a revision of a safety case; providing advice with respect to the preparation of a safety case; and assessing whether to grant an exemption (regulation 15 and Schedule 12). These Regulations determine fees for advice given to nuclear licensees or potential licensees for the performance by the Executive of the following functions— preparing an assessment agreement and assessing a design proposal for a nuclear site; and advice given to potential applicants for a nuclear site licence in relation to their potential application (regulation 16 and Schedule 13). These Regulations determine fees payable, in respect of the performance by or on behalf of the Executive or by an inspector appointed by it of any function conferred on the Executive or the inspector by the Health and Safety at Work etc. Act 1974 which relates to the enforcement of any of the relevant statutory provisions— in relation to an offshore installation, by the operator or owner who has prepared a current safety case pursuant to the Offshore Installations (Safety Case) Regulations 2005 (regulation 14); by— a person conveying gas who has prepared a safety case pursuant to the Gas Safety (Management) Regulations 1996 or by a network emergency co-ordinator, in relation to a network (including a pipeline that it is intended will form part of the network) to which the safety case relates; and a person conveying gas who has prepared a safety case pursuant to the Gas Safety (Management) Regulations 1996 and a major accident prevention document pursuant to the Pipelines Safety Regulations 1996, in relation to work relating to a major accident hazard pipeline (including the construction of a pipeline that it is intended will form part of the network) to which the major accident prevention document relates (regulation 15); and in relation to a nuclear site, by the licensee (regulation 16). These Regulations introduce a fee payable in respect of each notification made under the Notification of Conventional Tower Cranes Regulations 2010, due to come into force on 6th April 2010 (regulation 21 and Schedule 16). The following impact assessments are available from the Health and Safety Executive, Financial Management Team, Redgrave Court, Merton Road, Bootle Merseyside L20 7HS— A partial impact assessment of the effect that the increases in the level of fees described in regulation 5 will have on the costs of business and the voluntary sector; and A full impact assessment of the effect that the fee introduced by regulation 21 will have on the costs of business and the voluntary sector. A comparison of the new fees against those fixed by or determined under the previous fee-charging provisions are as follows: Other testing not fixed in Part 2 (b) Control of Asbestos Regulations 2006 (ii) for a clinical medical examination where this is carried out Regulation 4(6)(d) check Change of licence name or address Application for the written agreement of the competent authority under regulation 18(2) where the application is made after a notification has been submitted pursuant to regulation 9(1), 10(1), 11(1) or 12(1) Sum of the costs reasonably incurred by the Executive for the function performed Schedule 14 Approvals under the Health and Safety (First-Aid) Regulations 1981 Table 1 The fee for an original approval rises from £1,512 to £1,693, an increase of 11.97%. The fee for an additional site-visit rises from £543 to £565, an increase of 4.05%. The fee for renewal of approval rises from £106 to £117, an increase of 10.38%. Table 2 The fee for an initial site-visit rises from £567 to £576, an increase of 1.59%. The fee for any additional site-visit rises from £543 to £565, an increase of 4.05%. The fee for a site-visit to investigate a complaint rises from £567 to £576, an increase of 1.59%. The fee for a cancelled site-visit rises from £567 to £576, an increase of 1.59%. Schedule 15 Approvals under the Offshore Installations and Pipelines Works (First-Aid) Regulations 1989 Table 1 The fee for an original approval of first-aid training rises from £1,512 to £1,693, an increase of 11.97%. The fee for an original approval of medical training rises from £2,218 to £2,333, an increase of 5.18%. The fee for renewal of approval of first-aid training rises from £106 to £117, an increase of 10.38%. The fee for renewal of approval of medical training rises from £106 to £117, an increase of 10.38%. Table 2 The fee for an additional site-visit relating to first-aid training rises from £543 to £565, an increase of 4.05%. The fee for an additional site-visit relating to medical training rises from £1,315 to £1,335, an increase of 1.52%. Table 3 The fee for an initial site-visit relating to first-aid training rises from £567 to £576, an increase of 1.59%. The fee for an initial site-visit relating to medical training rises from £1,315 to £1,335, an increase of 1.52%. The fee for any additional site-visit relating to first-aid training rises from £543 to £565, an increase of 4.05%. The fee for any additional site-visit relating to medical training rises from £1,315 to £1,335, an increase of 1.52%. Table 4 The fee for a site-visit to investigate a complaint relating to first-aid training rises from £567 to £576, an increase of 1.59%. The fee for a site-visit to investigate a complaint relating to medical training rises from £567 to £1,335, an increase of 135.45%. The fee for a cancelled site-visit relating to first-aid training rises from £567 to £576, an increase of 1.59%. The fee for a cancelled site-visit relating to medical training is the reasonable cost to the Executive due to the cancellation.

Read the full note and every offence in this instrument

How this was identified as an offence

Everything above rests on the judgement that this provision creates a criminal offence, rather than mentioning one. That judgement is made by rule, from the words of the provision, and this is the rule that made it — with a confidence of 0.59.

Basis
the penalty comes from the enabling Act rather than from this instrument
Confidence
0.59 of 1.00

A provision that states a penalty for an offence created elsewhere can read very like one that creates an offence, and the rules can mistake the one for the other. If the text quoted above sets a penalty for something made an offence by another provision, treat the classification on this page with that in mind, and read the instrument.

Check the source