Contravention of The Cosmetic Products (Safety) Regulations 1996
the instrument as a whole of The Cosmetic Products (Safety) Regulations 1996
- Revoked
- Strict liability
- Set by another provision
- Food, consumer protection, trading standards, product safety and age-restricted sales
The provision has been revoked and no saving provision preserving liability for earlier conduct was found.
What the provision says
Contravening this instrument is an offence under section
12 of the Consumer Protection Act 1987. The instrument itself contains no offence-creating words.
Text as made, from legislation.gov.uk. © Crown copyright, reused under the Open Government Licence v3.0. This is the text as originally made; later amendments are not shown here.
Who it binds, and what has to be proved
- Binds
- a person
- Conduct
- breaching the provision
- Fault element
- Strict liability
- Burden of proof
- Not determined
The prosecution must prove that the conduct happened. This is a strict liability offence as drafted: the provision uses no word of intention, knowledge, recklessness or negligence, so there is no need to show that a person meant to do it, knew about it, or was careless.
Intention, knowledge and carelessness are irrelevant to guilt. They may still matter a great deal to sentence.
Classifier’s reasoning: contravention offences of this kind are strict as to the breach; the fault position is governed by the parent Act and was not read from it.
What would breach the instrument as a whole?
These are illustrations, not law. They are generated from the provision’s own words to show the shape of the offence. Whether any particular conduct is caught depends on the full text, on any amendment since, and on the facts.
- Doing what the provision prohibits, or failing to do what it requires under the Cosmetic Products (Safety) Regulations 1996.
Penalty
- Mode of trial
- Set by another provision — the instrument states the penalty by reference to an Act or to another regulation
- Maximum fine
- Not determined
- Maximum prison (summary)
- Not determined
The instrument does not state a penalty itself. It sets one by reference to section 12 of the Consumer Protection Act 1987.
the penalty is in the parent Act, not in this instrument.
No penalty was determined from this instrument. It may be in the enabling Act, or in a general penalties provision this pass did not connect to the offence. Absence of a figure here is not evidence that the offence carries no penalty.
Sentencing
Offences of this kind are usually sentenced under the guidelines below. This is a mapping by subject, not a finding about this provision, and the links go to a search of the Sentencing Council’s own site.
-
Sentencing organisations: fines and the means of a corporate defendant
All courts in England and Wales
How a fine on a company is arrived at from its turnover. Relevant far beyond the guidelines that state it, because a very large share of the offences in this corpus can only be committed by an organisation.
-
Health and safety offences, corporate manslaughter and food safety and hygiene offences: definitive guideline
Magistrates' courts and the Crown Court in England and Wales · in force from 1 February 2016
Covers breaches of duty under the Health and Safety at Work etc. Act 1974 and the regulations made under it, and food safety and food hygiene offences. Sentencing turns on culpability and on the seriousness and likelihood of harm risked, not only on the harm that happened.
-
Reduction in sentence for a guilty plea: definitive guideline
All courts in England and Wales · in force from 1 June 2017
The sliding scale of credit for pleading guilty, from one third at the first stage of proceedings downwards.
-
General guideline: overarching principles
All courts in England and Wales · in force from 1 October 2019
The guideline a court uses when there is no offence-specific guideline, which is the position for the overwhelming majority of offences created by statutory instrument. It sets out how culpability and harm are assessed from first principles.
-
Totality: definitive guideline
All courts in England and Wales
How to sentence more than one offence at once so that the total is just and proportionate - frequently in point here, because regulatory prosecutions commonly charge several breaches of the same instrument.
Prosecution figures
No published per-offence figure was found for this provision, and it could not be matched to a Ministry of Justice offence code. Offences created by statutory instrument very largely do not have one. Absence of a figure is not evidence that the offence is unused.
Status and lifecycle
- Current status
- Revoked
- Revoked by
- The Cosmetic Products (Safety) Regulations 2003
- Revoked on
- 15 April 2003
- Made
- 21 November 1996
- In force from
- Not determined
- Extent
- Not stated
How this was established: the instrument was revoked by a later instrument found in this corpus.
What the instrument is for
(This note is not part of the Regulations) — the explanatory note published with the instrument, © Crown copyright.
These Regulations consolidate with amendments the Cosmetic Products (Safety) Regulations 1989 as amended. They implement Council Directive 76/768/EEC (O.J. No. L262, 27.9.1976, p.169) on the approximation of the laws of the member States relating to cosmetic products, as amended (“the Cosmetics Directive”). They implement for the first time the amendments made to the Cosmetics Directive by Council Directive 93/35/EEC (O.J. No. L151, 23.6.1993, p.32) and Commission Directive 96/41/EC (O.J. No. L198, 8.8.1996, p.36). They also implement Commission Directives 95/32/EC (O.J. No. L178, 28.7.1995, p.20) and 96/45/EC (O.J. No. L213, 2.7.1996, p.8) relating to methods of analysis necessary for checking the composition of cosmetic products. Further, they implement Commission Directive 95/17/EC (O.J. No. L140, 23.6.1995, p.26) laying down detailed rules for the application of the Cosmetics Directive as regards the non-inclusion of one or more ingredients on the list used for the labelling of cosmetic products. These Regulations give effect to Council Directive 93/35/EEC and Commission Directive 96/41/EC as follows— 1 they contain an amended definition of “cosmetic product”(regulation 2(1)); 2 they contain an expanded general safety requirement for cosmetic products (regulation 3(1)); 3 they prohibit the use of urocanic acid and its ethyl ester in cosmetic products (regulation 4(2)(a) and Schedule 1, entry numbers 342, 405 and 751); 4 they permit the use in certain cosmetic products of potassium hydroxide, sodium hydroxide, lithium hydroxide and calcium hydroxide, subject to restrictions (regulation 4(2)(b) and Schedule 2, Part I, entry numbers 15a, 15b and 15c); 5 they permit the use as preservatives in cosmetic products of chlorphenesin, sodium hydroxymethylglycinate and silver chloride deposited on titanium dioxide, subject to restrictions (regulations 4(2)(e)(i) and 4(2)(f) and Schedule 4, Part I, entry numbers 50, 51 and 52); 6 they permit, subject to restrictions, the use in cosmetic products until 30 June 1997 of three preservatives listed as entry numbers 16, 21 and 29 in Schedule 4, Part II (regulation 4(2)(e)(ii) and Schedule 4, Part II); 7 they permit the use as a UV filter in cosmetic products of polymer N-{(2 and 4)-[(2-oxoborn-3-ylidene)methyl]benzyl}acrylamide, subject to a restriction (regulation 4(2)(h)(i) and 4(2)(i) and Schedule 5, Part I, entry number 11); 8 they permit the use in cosmetic products until 30 June 1997 of 10 UV filters listed as entry numbers 2, 5, 6, 12, 13, 17, 25, 26, 29 and 32 in Schedule 5, Part II, subject to restrictions (regulation 4(2)(h)(ii) and Schedule 5, Part II); 9 they prohibit the use in cosmetic products of any ingredients which have been tested on animals after 1st January 1998 (regulation 4(3)); 10 they provide that any reference to testing on animals in the labelling, putting up for sale or advertising of a cosmetic product must state clearly whether the tests carried out involved the cosmetic product itself or its ingredients (regulation 4(4) and (5)); 11 they require cosmetic products to be labelled with information about their function, unless this is clear from their presentation (regulation 6(2)(h)); 12 they require cosmetic products to be labelled with details of their ingredients, identified by their common names as provided for in the common ingredients nomenclature (an inventory of ingredients compiled by the Commission and contained in Commission Decision 96/335/EC (O.J. No. L132, 1.6.1996, p.1), and they make provision for the manner of labelling required and for cases where ingredients are not listed in the common ingredients nomenclature (regulation 6(1), (5)(b) and (9) to (12)); 13 they require manufacturers, their agents, persons to whose order cosmetic products are manufactured and (in certain circumstances) persons responsible for supplying cosmetic products for the first time in the Community to keep for control purposes detailed information (which must be readily accessible to a United Kingdom competent authority) bearing on the composition, ingredients, method of manufacture, safety and effect of the cosmetic products in question (regulation 8); 14 they require manufacturers, their agents, persons to whose order cosmetic products are manufactured and (in certain circumstances) persons responsible for supplying cosmetic products for the first time in the Community to notify a United Kingdom competent authority of the address of the place of manufacture or initial importation into the Community of a type of cosmetic product before that type of product is first supplied in the Community, where the place of manufacture or initial importation is within the United Kingdom (regulation 9); and 15 they enable United Kingdom competent authorities to require that any holder of information on substances used in cosmetic products must make that information available where this may overcome or ease any difficulties encountered in providing prompt and appropriate medical treatment (regulation 10). These Regulations give effect to the requirements of Commission Directives 95/32/EC and 96/45/EC by introducing procedures for the identification and determination of benzoic acid, 4-hydroxybenzoic acid, sorbic acid, salicylic acid, propionic acid, hydroquinone, hydroquinone monomethylether, hydroquinone monoethylether, hydroquinone monobenzylether (monobenzone), 2-phenoxyethanol, 1-phenoxypropan-2-ol, and methyl, ethyl, propyl, butyl and benzyl 4-hydrozybenzoate in cosmetic products (regulation 14 and Schedule 8, paragraph 6(39), (40) and (41)). Finally, these Regulations give effect to the requirements of Commission Directive 95/17/EEC by providing that manufacturers, their agents, persons to whose order cosmetic products are manufactured and (in certain circumstances) persons responsible for supplying cosmetic products for the first time in the Community may, if for reasons of trade secrecy they do not wish to include a particular cosmetic ingredient in the list of cosmetic ingredients required for labelling purposes, apply to a competent authority for approval to use a reference number in that list rather than the ingredient’s name. Provision is made for the particulars which must accompany such an application and for the procedures which apply to applications and to the withdrawal of any approval (regulation 11 and Schedule 7). The Colour Index referred to in these Regulations may be obtained from the Society of Dyers and Colourists, PO Box No. 244, 82 Grattan Road, Bradford BD1 2JB. The International Cosmetic Ingredient Dictionary referred to in these Regulations may be obtained from Micelle Press, 12 Ullswater Crescent, Weymouth, Dorset DT3 5HE. A Compliance Cost Assessment is available, copies of which have been placed in the libraries of both Houses of Parliament. Copies are also available from the Consumer Affairs and Competition Policy Directorate of the Department of Trade and Industry, Room 4.D.2, 1 Victoria Street, London SW1H 0ET.
Read the full note and every offence in this instrument
What Parliament said
Mentions of this instrument in Hansard. Parliamentary material is reused under the Open Parliament Licence v3.0.
-
Delegated Legislation
Commons · 14 January 1997
Motion made, and Question put forthwith, pursuant to Standing Order No. 101(4) (Standing Committees on Delegated Legislation), That the Education (Assisted Places) (Scotland) Amendment Regulations 1996 (S.I., 1996, No. 1808), the Cosmetic Products (Safety) Regulations 1996 (S.I., 1996, No. 2925), and the Joint Consultative Committees Order 1996 (S.I., 1996, No. 2820) be referred to a Standing Committee on Delegated…
How this was identified as an offence
Everything above rests on the judgement that this provision creates a criminal offence, rather than mentioning one. That judgement is made by rule, from the words of the provision, and this is the rule that made it — with a confidence of 0.55.
- Basis
- the penalty comes from the enabling Act rather than from this instrument
- Confidence
- 0.55 of 1.00
A provision that states a penalty for an offence created elsewhere can read very like one that creates an offence, and the rules can mistake the one for the other. If the text quoted above sets a penalty for something made an offence by another provision, treat the classification on this page with that in mind, and read the instrument.
Check the source
- This provision on legislation.gov.uk The authoritative text. Check it before relying on anything here.
- The Cosmetic Products (Safety) Regulations 1996 Every offence this instrument creates, and its explanatory note
- Food, consumer protection, trading standards, product safety and age-restricted salesOther offences on the same subject
- Offences created in 1996